What is GolfSixes? Teams, draw and format as golf launches new tournament at Centurion

When is GolfSixes?

The tournament will take place over just two days as opposed to the usual four, starting on May 6.

What is the format of GolfSixes?

There will be 16 teams competing at the inaugural GolfSixes, each representing different country.

On the first day of competition, the 16 teams are split into four groups of four within which each team plays the others in a round robin format. A win is worth three points based on who wins the most holes.

Sunday will see the top two from each group progress to the quarter-finals and the knockout competition will reach its completion on the day.

The course is shortened to just six holes with both players teeing off on all the holes before a better ball is chosen by the team before they take alternate shots until the hole is completed.

Each hole has a different theme – the third has a long drive competition built into it while a 40-second shot clock will hurry the players along on the following hole.

What are the GolfSixes teams?

ENGLAND: Chris Wood, Andy Sullivan, THAILAND: Thongchai Jaidee, Kiradech Aphibarnrat, AUSTRALIA: Sam Brazel, Scott Hend, SOUTH AFRICA: Darren Fichardt, Brandon Stone, DENMARK: Thorbjorn Olesen, Lucas Bjerregaard, FRANCE: Alexander Levy, Gregory Bourdy, SPAIN: Pablo Larrazabal, Alejandro Canizares, WALES: Bradley Dredge, Jamie Donaldson, USA: Paul Peterson, David Lipsky, NETHERLANDS: Joost Luiten, Reinier Saxton, BELGIUM: Nicolas Colsaerts, Thomas Detry, SWEDEN: Johan Carlsson, Joakim Lagergren, INDIA: S.S.P Chawrasia, Chikkarangappa S., PORTUGAL: Ricardo Gouveia, Jose-Filipe Lima, ITALY: Matteo Manassero, Renato Paratore, SCOTLAND: Richie Ramsay, Marc Warren.

What is the draw for GolfSixes?

GROUP A: England, Denmark, Netherlands, India.

GROUP B :Thailand, Spain, Belgium, Scotland.

GROUP C: Australia, Wales, USA, Portugal.

GROUP D: South Africa, France, Sweden, Italy.


Leave a Reply